Still searching

Chapter 28

“Are you still angry?” Asked Draco as he slipped into the seat next to Harry.
“No.”
“Why do you have Penwidge?”
“Didn’t have time to put her in my room.”
Our room.”
“Yeah.”
“You are still mad.”
“I’m not mad!”
Draco sighed and turned to speak with Professor Quipett in hushed voices. Harry ate in silence. He knew Draco and Quipett were talking about him but he didn’t care. He wasn’t a Veela.  and as soon as he finished, he walked back to his room. When he got there, he realized he had nothing to do so he turned around and headed to the Headmistresses office. When he got to the gargoyle, he said, “Sherbet Lemon.” McGonagall had used that password in memory of Dumbledore. He walked into the room and looked around. Quite a few of Dumbledore’s interesting objects were missing. He dragged a chair over to his old Headmaster’s portrait and sat down.
“Hello Professor.”
“Hello my dear boy.”
“How are you considering…You know, you’re in a painting and all.” Dumbledore chuckled before answering.
“I’m very well my boy. And how are you? I heard there have been some small complications since you started work here.”
“Well, first I was kidnapped, then just a week ago, not even that, some prat gave me a love potion, and now Professors McGonagall, Quipett and Draco think I’m a Veela.”
“Ah, a Veela. I wouldn’t be surprised if you were, Harry.”
“What? You too?”
“My boy, you must admit, you have extraordinary powers! You could probably do magic without a wand.”
“Professor, correct me if I’m wrong, but if you can’t do that, surely I can’t. You were far more powerful than me. And anyway, I’m not ‘extraordinary’ as you say, I just had a lot of luck and people to help me; including you.”
“Harry, I want you to keep an open mind about this. If you do end up being a Veela, you will need training and your emotions will be all over the place as soon as you get your wings, even before. You will probably develop powers you didn’t have before.”
“Like talking to Draco with my mind?” Dumbledore looked startled for a moment but quickly took back his calm composure.
“Yes, like talking to Draco with your mind.”
Harry sighed deeply.
“That’s it-” He said more to himself than to Dumbledore. “-I can’t be a prat if I do turn out to be a Veela. I’m grown up now. I’m an adult and I’m going to be mature.”
“That’s the spirit. But Harry, remember, you are only eighteen, you don’t have to be mature all of the time.”
“Thank you Professor.”
Dumbledore winked to Harry as he walked out of the room.

“Hello everybody!” Harry beamed at his students that Monday morning. “Today, we are going to be studying the Fire-Making Charm. Now you might not be able to cast it on the first go, like many other spells. I am going to demonstrate, and then, you will try on candles. Could you please pass these around, Penelope? Thank you. Now, how to cast the spell: I want you to all close your eyes and say the incantation ‘Incendio’ without your wands please so we don’t have any accidents. One the count of three; one, two, three. Incendio. Very good now, when you cast this spell, in your mind, I want you to imagine you candle lit. I want you to imagine the fire going from your hand, through your wand and onto the candle’s wick. Can you do that? You can try with your wands now.”
Harry walked around the classroom, pointing out things that could be done better, giving encouragements. He went back to his desk and watched Cassandra for afar. She had her eyes closed and was mouthing the incantation before doing the spell. After a minute of that, still with her eyes closed, she said the spell and a flame shot out from her wand and she lit the candle.
“Well done Cassandra! First go as well! Five points to Slytherin.”
The girl blushed and hid behind her hair. Harry noticed the Gryffindors all glared at her. They were already developing hate for the Slytherins. Apparently Cassandra Noticed too because she slid down her chair and didn’t day a word for the rest of the lesson except for the incantation.
At the end of the lesson, Harry called back the young Slytherin.
“You did very well today Cassandra. You were the first one to perform the spell!”
The girl didn’t say anything, she just looked at the floor.
“I don’t want you to take any notice of the Gryffindors, okay? They are silly and jealous that somebody other than them casted the spell first. Just ignore them.” The girl nodded. “Go on, off you go then.”

At dinner that night, Harry decided he was going to talk to McGonagall about what happened.
“Professor, I think we should do something about the Gryffindors and Slytherins.”
“Why is that, Potter?”
“Today, Cassandra, Bill’s daughter, got made fun of because she cast the Fire-Making Charm first in my lesson.”
“And what do you suggest?” Harry thought for a moment before answering.
“Maybe, when they are together in lessons, we should make them team up. They could get to know each other that way and they could  become friends!”
“If we had done that with you and Mr Malfoy, would you have become friends with him?”
“Probably not…”
“We can’t do anything about it, I’m afraid. That is just the way they are.”
Harry didn’t say anything for a moment, then he got an idea. He got up and hurried to the Gryffindor table.
“Quidditch pitch, this evening, midnight, the whole house.  Don’t tell any of the teachers. Pass the word around.” He whispered to the first student he got to.
He said that to all four houses and sat back down, satisfied.
“Mr Potter, what did you do?”
“Nothing, Headmistress.” He said in an innocent voice.

Leave a Reply

