Mysterious Man

Chapter 5

When Jamie left, around an hour later, I scooped some leftover past out of a big plastic container and brought it to my room. I turned Nextflix on and started eating. My eyes closed seepily even though I had slept several hours that day. I dreamt of a beautiful black bird, pecking at the window. Little did I know, I wasn’t dreaming. There were actually pecking noises coming from the window. I sat up lazily and trudged over to the window, still half asleep. I pulled the curtains open a crack and peaked out of the gap.
What an idiot.
There was Jamie, crouching on the ground, trying to find more pebbles to attract my attention even though he could have easily knocked on the window.
“Jamie!” I hissed. “What the hell are you doing?”
“What do you think?” the boy answered, his eyes laughing.
“Seems like you’re trying to get me in trouble!”
“Never! Come on, I parked the truck around the corner, your mum’ll never know!”
“Yes she will.”
“She won’t.”
“Go away Jamie. You’re already coming over tomorrow for dinner.”
“And maybe I’ll be invited over the day after tomorrow as well.” Jamie flashed a grin at me.
“You’re so annoying.”
“Come on, come down. We’ll stay here. Right here, on this very doorstep. No need to go anywhere else.”
“If I come down will you stop badgering me?”
“Of course.”
“Fine. But I’ll have to come through the window, Mum’ll still be in the living room.”
It was a good thing my house was a bungalow.
I wrapped my pink dressing gown around my shoulders and jumped out of the window. I landed neatly on my feet.
“You’re so annoying.” I repeated. “I’ve only known you for a day and you’re already invited around for dinner and I’m sneaking out for you!”
“What can I say? I’ve got charm.”
“Yeah, you’ve got arrogance too.”
“I won’t deny it.”
We sat down on the doorstep and talked for a while. We didn’t really talk about anything interesting, we were just getting to know each other. We played a game: he asked me ten questions about me and I asked him ten questions about him. Than, he asked me ten questions about him and I had to guess the answer according to what I already knew and vice versa. It was actually quite fun.
Around midnight, I insisted on going back to sleep. Jamie gave me a boost up on the ledge and I crawled inside. I gave him a little wave before closing the curtains.
I lay down on my bed. I was asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow.
We had just arrived at our new house. It was small, smaller than our house in England. And it was extremely hot and the neighbors were noisy and I had to share a room with Katie which wasn’t so bad; she was quite a good room mate but I was sixteen, I needed my privacy.
“I hate it.” I said to Mum as I banged the bedroom door closed.
“So, that Jamie… Someone special?”
“Mum!” I chocked on my cereal. After drinking a big gulp of water, I stared at her in horror. “I’ve literally known him for one day. One day.
“Well I don’t know. He’s nice. Charming, good looking.”
“Mum! Please, stop!”
“Well I’m just say-”
“Going to be late for school, bye!”
“Don’t forget about dinner tonight!”
“Don’t worry, I won’t.”
I walked at a quick pace all the way to school. When I finally got there, what was the first thing I saw? A black truck, a lean man leaning against it. I, like the anti-social person I am, tried to dodge him. I skimmed the edge of the car park and headed to my first lesson: French.
Bonjour mes enfants, je suis Madame Carolie. Bienvenue à votre premier cours de Français.
A long hour later, I was back in Geography.
“Miss Caro, I hope you are feeling better after yesterday?” said the Professor.
“Yes, Miss. I was just… Taken by surprise.”
“Well let’s hope today goes better.”
“Yeah.”
I took my seat at the back of class where Jamie was already waiting for me.
“Well hello there.” He grinned at me.
“Hey. Listen, do you really have to come tonight?”
“Don’t you want me to come?”
“I would absolutely hate for you to come! It’s going to be so embarrassing.”
“Nah, it’s gonna be cool.”
“It really isn’t.”
“You’ll see.”
“Now, I want you all to buddy up cause we’re going to be doing a group project. Now if you’ll just tell me who you’re going to partner up with so I can write it down…”
Jamie strode to the front of the classroom and said loud and clear, “I’m gonna be with Lila Caro.”
“Okay… Jamie, is it? What’s your last name?”
“Jamie. Just Jamie.”
“Now, I need your last name.”
Jamie ignored Professor Tyler and just walked back up to me. “We’re buddies!” He said.
“I hadn’t noticed. Don’t I get a say in this?”
“Would you like to be with someone else?”
I glared at him in response.
“I rest my case.” He said, smirk in place.

“We’re actually partners for a Geography project.” Said Jamie to Mum as she was dishing up the takeaway pizza she had ordered.
“How lovely! What do you have to do?”
“We have to go somewhere historical around here and do a mock up and essay of it.”
“That’s  great! Where are you going to go?”
“We don’t know yet Mum.” I said exasperated and rolled my eyes.
“Well when are you going to start it than?”
“Can I come with you?” asked Katie.
“Sorry, Katie. This is just for me and Jamie.”
“Oh.” I couldn’t take it, Katie was too cute with those puppy eyes.
“But we’ll take you to that big trampoline park!”
“Yay!”
“That’s very kind of you Lila.” Mum kissed my forehead.
“Mum!”
“What?”
“It’s embarrassing!”
“Oh shush you.”
“I love you?”
“I love you too.”

Leave a Reply

